Reviews - Aynsome Manor Hotel, Cartmel

Fabulous, Faultless Service. - Rating 5/5

Fabulous, faultless service. Extremely welcoming. Spotless, quirky room, full of character. Communal areas tastefully furnished with period furniture as you would expect from a country house hotel. Wonderful dining room serving beautifully presented, locally sourced food, cooked to perfection. Breakfast of the same high standard. Worth visiting for dinner even if you weren't staying.

Reviewer:J | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 5 days ago


Friendly - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff and owner, comfortable room and good breakfast. We only stayed 1 night but would go back.

Reviewer:G | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 5 days ago


Great Trip - Rating 5/5

We stayed on race weekend in Cartmel. It’s our second time staying. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Service was exceptional, especially the manager who was chatty and helpful. Located 15 minutes walk from the village but benefits from being surrounded by fields. Very peaceful. There’s a few tables dotted about outside with views over the fell. Bar is nice and offers a good selection of drinks. Breakfast was traditional and enjoyable.

Reviewer:DJW C | Sun 26th Aug 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Third stay in 8 Months - Rating 5/5

My third stay at this hotel in 8 months! This time it was a one night stay end of July 2018. The hotel is situated in a very quiet location just outside of Cartmel, an idea base to explore the Lake District.Entering the property on the gravel drive leads you directly onto the residents car park. The main entrance leads straight into a lounge area. The carpets and furniture are maintained to a very high standard. We received a very friendly greeting from reception. The room was immaculate the carpets and furniture were of a high quality and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was equipped with a tv, kettle, hairdryer, coffee/tea, biscuits and even a jar of sweets. Spotless bathroom with shower cubicle. The bathroom had a selection of grooming lotions which were larger than you find in most hotel rooms.The furniture in the dining room was grand. The window commands a wonderful countryside view. The evening meal experience is still one of the most enjoyable I have experienced in any UK hotel. Staff were razor sharp and attentive. The evening meal was followed by coffee and nibbles in the first floor lounge.Breakfast followed the same high standard as the evening meal. There was everything you would expect and all cooked to order.I will be attempting to revisit before the end of this year.

Reviewer:Steve G | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

We love this hotel and we are repeat visitors - every time we return, it’s just like coming home! To really appreciate Aynsome Manor, you have to view it in context:it is a small, privately-owned, family-run establishment based around a charming old building. If you are looking for glitz and glamour, or a bland chain-owned hotel, I would suggest that this probably isn’t the place for you. If however you are looking for a very relaxing environment, a true ‘country house’ atmosphere, friendly and efficient service and first-class food, then you will find it all at Aynsome Manor. Yes, the place has it quirks and idiosyncrasies, but that is most definitely parts of its charm. The bedrooms maybe aren’t the biggest or fanciest around, but they are clean and comfortable. The public rooms are cosy and their layout encourages interaction with other guests, most of whom are couples of a certain age - again this is very much part of the charm of Aynsome Manor. Highly recommend

Reviewer:o | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

What a gem! A country house hotel with quirky room. The room was spacious and clean. The bed comfortable and bedding and towels crisp. Lovely period house nicely furnished. The service was first class both in the dining room and reception. Warm and extremely welcoming. Fabulous locally sourced food. Beautiful presentation. Beautiful setting. Faultless

Reviewer:Stella F | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely Stay at Aynsome - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely night staying at the Aynsome as added a night in Cartmel when visiting family in Morecambe. All the staff were lovely and made us very welcome, particularly the lady on reception who gave us directions to get into the village. We enjoyed pre dinner drinks outside in the sunshine and had a lovely meal in the restaurant. The beef was excellent and great wine list as well. Particularly enjoyed the pudding wine with the chocolate mousse. Breakfast was lovely the next morning with locally sourced produce. We loved our stay and also spending time in Cartmel. We are already planning our next visit.

Reviewer:A G P | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Just Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Stayed here as it is close to friends and in a lovely, quiet location next to Cartmel village. Immediately made welcome and shown to our spacious, really comfortable room. Chef responded perfectly to my wife's dairy intolerance and each evening she had her own personal menu! Food was brilliantly executed. True Cordon bleu with generous portions.The staff and owners merely added to the joy of our visit (3 nights). Personal touches like a birthday card for my wife and making up the beds in line with the warm May weather.Don't go here because there are only 12 rooms and we always want to go back... Fantastic, classic, lovely.

Reviewer:Graham c | Sat 2nd Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Ten out of ten in all areas! - Rating 5/5

Our eighth visit in two years. Superb hospitality, food, staff and accommodation. Highly recommended.hotel is privately owned and attention to detail is second to none. The five course evening dinner is of a high standard.

Reviewer:Dave P | Sat 2nd Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Great Hotel - Rating 5/5

Stayed there last weekend. Staff were so good and warm. Food brilliant and just a 15 min walk to centre Cartmel. Rooms were good and a great breakfast choice. Dinner as good as Rogans and L'Eclume. Great Hotel.

Reviewer:H | Sat 12th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Perfect Location - Rating 5/5

debradallasWhaley Bridge, United Kingdom1Just spent two nights at this lovely small hotel, the owners are perfect hosts and make sure you enjoy your stay. We had dinner on the first night which did not disappoint, and the host spent time to chat with us explaining the hotels history making sure we were all looked after. We stayed in a double room at the front of the hotel and woke up each morning to a spectacular view and a hearty breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean and modern. I cannot find fault with this hotel and shall look forward to returning in the future.

Reviewer:Debra D | Sat 12th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Evening Meal for a Special Occasion. - Rating 5/5

Absolutely perfect ! My husband booked (17/4) an evening meal for my 60th birthday. The staff were exemplary (especially David) and nothing was too much trouble. The meal was delicious and well presented. The atmosphere was relaxing and and very welcoming.I could not have wished for a nicer way to spend my 60th birthday evening.

Reviewer:J.A. M | Wed 18th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Genuine Country House - Rating 5/5

Booked here as a last minute break away before an impending hospital stay! Very pleasant welcome lovely ancient house with rooms rambling away. Rooms above average, very clean and warm some nice touches, toiletries, info in room etc. The owner, Chris is very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the history of his hotel. We had a delightful dinner and scrumptious breakfast. The hotel seems to be always popular and rightly so. We had been here a couple of times thirty years ago and had pleasant memories which were not let down. It will be a lot less than thirty years before we are back again. Cartmel is a lovely village.

Reviewer:S | Thu 12th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent Evening Meal - Rating 5/5

Recently my wife and I including four of our friends had an evening meal at Aynsome Manor. Two of our friends were actually staying at the hotel for a few days.On entering the Hotel we were greeted with such friendliness and were escorted to the lounge for pre meal drinks. On such a cold evening this had a very welcoming log fire.After drinks we proceeded to the dining room where the service and the meal was excellent.We would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Will L | Thu 12th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

Following an overnight stay at Aynsome Manor Hotel in August 2017 I returned in February 2018. The hotel is situated in a very quiet location just outside of Cartmel, an idea base to explore the Lake District. Entering the property on the gravel drive it leads you directly onto the residents car park. The main entrance leads straight into a lounge area where the open fire was most welcoming. The carpets and furniture are maintained to a very high standard. I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was extremely helpful. After a tour of the hotel and shown to my room. The room was immaculate. The carpets and furniture were of a high quality and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was equipped with a tv, kettle, coffee/tea, biscuits and even a jar of sweets. Spotless bathroom with shower cubicle. The bathroom had a selection of grooming lotions which were larger than you find in most hotel rooms. The furniture in the dining room was grand and the window commanded a wonderful countryside view. The evening meal was one of the most enjoyable I have experienced in a UK hotel. Staff were razor sharp and attentive. The evening meal was followed by coffee and nibbles in the first floor lounge with another open fire . Breakfast followed the same high standard as the evening meal. There was everything you would expect and all cooked to order. Looking forward already o a return visit in the autumn of 2018!

Reviewer:Steve G | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Stop over en-route to Scotland - Rating 5/5

This is a charming clean hotel run by professional staff who are exceptional.On arrival Andrea welcomed us with sincere warmth and accompanied us to our room which had been carefully pre-heated and catered for a personal visit. The room was beautiful, very clean and enhanced by above average touches such as a jar of sweets.The hotel itself is easily accessible and located in a tranquil environment, no noise or light pollution here. Historical Cartmel, where a friendly pint can be had, is within walking distance. There are some quaint eateries here as well as a number of interesting shops and of course the monastic centre piece itself.A lovely home log fire is kept burning in the front room of the hotel where guests can sit cosy and comfortable and perhaps chat with fellow travellers or friendly staff.Breakfast, included in the very fair room rate, is served in the family room which again is fresh, clean and warm. We were generously looked after by Chris who clearly is extremely experienced in service as well a delightful and cheerful host who goes the extra mile and as I observed with every guest too.In our opinion this hotel deserves a definite five star rating.All the best for 2018 and thank you.

Reviewer:David H | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Night away in Cartmel - Rating 5/5

Booked as a last minute, post-Christmas night away as we were unable to get somewhere for New Year’s Eve. Great hospitality, lovely breakfast and comfortable surroundings. A flurry of snow in the morning meant we were unable to walk into town for our car but Chris kindly drove us in, enabling us to get home safely. Thanks Aynsome Manor for a lovely time, we will see you again soon. Gary and Liz ❄️

Reviewer:Lizg | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Relaxing and warm - Rating 5/5

A glorious open fire welcomed us in the lounge as we made our way to reception. Front of house staff were friendly, helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Our double room was spacious and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a very good nights sleep. We opted to eat our evening meal at the hotel. The choice of foods on the menu was varied - we both chose filet of beef (cooked just as we had ordered) which was delicious! Our pre dinner drinks were taken in the lounge, again in front of a roaring open fire.Breakfast was very delicious. Aynsome Manor prides itself on using locally sourced fresh produce and all of the components of our breakfast were melt in the mouth tasty! The breakfast menu also had a choice of fish on offer, which neither of us chose - this time!We will return to this hotel. We wanted a relaxing, friendly and comfortable hotel in the southern lakes area and this place ticks all the boxes

Reviewer:h | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely night away - Rating 5/5

My wife and I recently had a stay over for our wedding anniversary. Despite being a short visit due to work commitments we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The hotel setting on the outskirts of Cartmel is idyllic. The hotel is beautiful inside and very relaxing. Service was excellent, attentive and friendly. The evening meal superb. We felt the prices for drinks, wine etc. were reasonable and not inflated. We will go back again for a while longer next time. A very nice final touch was the anniversary card left in our room which had been carefully printed. Many thanks from Brian and Jane.

Reviewer:rian & J | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Quaity Hotel - Rating 5/5

My wife and I recently had a stay over for our wedding anniversary. Despite being a short visit due to work commitments we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The hotel setting on the outskirts of Cartmel is idyllic. The hotel is beautiful inside and very relaxing. Service was excellent, attentive and friendly. The evening meal superb. We felt the prices for drinks, wine etc. were reasonable and not inflated. We will go back again for a while longer next time. A very nice final touch was the anniversary card left in our room which had been carefully printed. Many thanks from Brian and Jane.

Reviewer:M | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Comfortable hotel "of the old school" - Rating 5/5

My wife and I recently had a stay over for our wedding anniversary. Despite being a short visit due to work commitments we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The hotel setting on the outskirts of Cartmel is idyllic. The hotel is beautiful inside and very relaxing. Service was excellent, attentive and friendly. The evening meal superb. We felt the prices for drinks, wine etc. were reasonable and not inflated. We will go back again for a while longer next time. A very nice final touch was the anniversary card left in our room which had been carefully printed. Many thanks from Brian and Jane.

Reviewer:K | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Touring Holiday - Rating 5/5

Stayed here three nights while touring Cumbria and the borders. There is nothing negative you can say about this lovely family run country house hotel. Room, staff, food all first class. Relaxing with a coffee in the lounge after dinner was like being in a friends home with lovely furnishings and antiques. Can highly recommend.

Reviewer:W | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Staff couldn't be more helpful - Rating 5/5

Just had a lovely weekend at Aynsome Manor. The location was beautiful, the room quirky and spacious, and they were incredibly welcoming and helpful, staying up late to let in the guys who were doing the lakes run and ourselves who were out late at l'Enclume. They were dog friendly too which was a tremendous help! Thanks again, hope to be back.

Reviewer:T | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent quality at a sensible price - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome on a cold evening. Drinks by the fire while we perused the menu. Super attentive service all round. A good range of starters, mains and desserts. Our beef was excellent;and the wine good. Chris our host was most helpful. We returned to the lounge for coffee and mints, again by the fire. A lovely relaxed evening in good country house surroundings- we were sorry to leave, but will return soon.

Reviewer:s | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

I stayed with a group of friends and just couldn't believe the value for money.We were warmly welcomed and then very well looked after by Chris and his team. Chris's customer service was flawless and he coped well with a group that can be a little mischievous at times and joined in with the fun.From setting aside an area in the large lounge to providing sound local advice, Chris was the perfect host. Each evening after a generous meal (how often do you run out of biscuits when served cheese and biscuits? Extra biscuits were always available if requested) we would retire to the lounge for tea/coffee, or to be served with drinks from the bar. There are plenty of books and games to entertain in the lounge area if the weather wasn't great, or you could watch the wild life within the large vista. While we were there each evening we could see a mother deer and her 2 youngsters crossing the meadow looking for food.This is not a modern building, but it has character and is very well presented and well maintained. The rooms were very comfortable and had all the facilities you would expect.If you are looking for a holiday base in the south of the lake district I would highly recommend the Aynsome Manor.

Reviewer:S | Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


Recently my wife and I including four of our friends had an evening meal at Aynsome Manor. Two of our friends were actually staying at the hotel for a few days. On entering the Hotel we were greeted w - Rating 5/5

Recently my wife and I including four of our friends had an evening meal at Aynsome Manor. Two of our friends were actually staying at the hotel for a few days.On entering the Hotel we were greeted with such friendliness and were escorted to the lounge for pre meal drinks. On such a cold evening this had a very welcoming log fire.After drinks we proceeded to the dining room where the service and the meal was excellent.We would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Will L | Sat 3rd Mar 2018 | 6 months ago


Marvellous night's stay - Rating 5/5

We were only looking to break up our trip from Scotland, back home. And I stumbled across this hotel vis a dog friendly site. We were very impressed with the location and the comfort of the room and beds.We will certainly plan to stay here again on visitis to this area.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen W | Mon 31st Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Comfortable and relaxing - Rating 5/5

Our first stay at this hotel. Personable attentive staff and great choice of food makes for an enjoyable and relaxing break. Recommended, we'll be back.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert G | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Staying overnight - Rating 4/5

The hotel is very friendly, set in a lovely location and our room was clean and tidy with all facilities that we needed. Breakfast was good but we did wait a while for our tea this was due to the fact that all guests seemed to be in tbreakfast at the same time. In summary well pleased with the hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Edward H | Tue 31st Dec 2013 | 4 years ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Service and Hotel excellent. Nice and friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew W | Tue 3rd Dec 2013 | 4 years ago


A perfect hotel - Rating 5/5

A beautiful building and setting, together with a warm welcome, delicious food, and excellent service throughout our stay. The dining room is a particular delight, and we could enjoy a superb meal without having to listen to musak, all of which made it just perfect.

Reviewer:Mr. William Smethurst S | Mon 18th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Worth a trip - Rating 5/5

Staying at Aynesome Manor is like stepping back in time. The house just oozes historical character and the dining room is stunning. The food is superb and excellent value, the staff polite and nothing is too much trouble.The rooms, although not ultra modern are clean and well equipped. We had the heavily beamed room 13 that was once the wig room!The owner is friendly and made us feel genuinely welcome.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew T | Sun 20th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


welcoming staff - Rating 4/5

A wonderful manor in superb setting.The staff were very welcoming.We only ate breakfast here and found it to be very good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary E | Sun 8th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Our Stay - Rating 4/5

We only stayed one night, but were very impressed. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and a wonderful setting. Would certainly recommend to friends and family.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew H | Wed 28th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Aynsome Manor - Rating 4/5

Every thing first class,our first stay but hopefully not our last.

Reviewer:Mr. William R | Tue 20th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


our two day break - Rating 5/5

our stay was fabulous the rooms ,the food ,cleanliness and the staff were all brilliant would recommend very highly regards john

Reviewer:Mr. John F | Wed 24th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


First Visit - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome even though only staying one night. Nothing was too much trouble from the attentive staff.Dinner and breakfast were memorable.Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. John H | Tue 23rd Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Warm Welcome - Rating 4/5

Aynsome Manor is an excellentstopping offdestination for travellers heading North or South or those wanting a goodbasefrom which to explore the N W side of the UK.This small hotel is admirably hosted by the very amiable Owner who works particularly hard to ensure the comfortable convenience of his guests. The straightforward menu offers a reasonable choice of well cooked and well presented food. Beds are comfortable and willing help is given with baggage. On reflection our only significant (for us) complaint was the lack ofwater pressure in the shower. Prices are very reasonable both for accommodation and dinner;all in all very good value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. JuanK | Sat 29th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Three night stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable place to stay, clean, friendly staff and excellent food. We always stay when visiting our friends in the lakes and even when we owned a flat in Cartmel we ate there. One thing has not changed, the small wine glasses which does not do justice to the wine. They are old hat

Reviewer:Mr. Alistair W | Thu 13th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Comfortable and welcoming - Rating 5/5

Our first stay,one night stopover. Great service and handy location 20 mins from M6. Very clean and quiet, good value evening meal and excellent breakfast selection.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan K | Wed 5th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Welcome to our house - Rating 5/5

What better place to stay for Cartmel and Southern Lakes.Such a welcome from the team and a nice room, we only had a snack in the evening and drinks in the lounge, all very nice and the menu looked great.Breakfast also fabulous.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin H | Tue 7th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Aynsome Manor Review - Rating 4/5

The short stay at the hotel was pleasant and enjoyable. The dinner was a little formal but enjoyable nonetheless. I would have preferred a detailed breakdown of my wine and drinks and expected that the newspaper was complimentary.

Reviewer:Mr. John M | Mon 22nd Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


A relaxing and welcoming visit - Rating 5/5

We stayed a the Aynsome Manor for one night only (sad to say) in April 2013. We received a very warm welcome and very attentive service from all the staff. Our room was comfortable, large and immaculately clean. We had an excellent dinner and a very good breakfast. The views are superb especially from the first floor sitting room. We would highly recommend this lovely hotel

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine D | Sun 21st Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


A pleasant break - Rating 4/5

Delightful setting with very welcoming and courteous staff. Food good. Bedroom charming with good facilities. Bathroom fine up to a point but the shower was not the easiest to handle and not very powerful. A shower curtain would have prevented a flood on the floor, which occurred even though I tried to direct the showerhead away from it.However, I have no doubt we shall return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynne M | Tue 16th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Review - Rating 4/5

The hotel is very clean the staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food was very good. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would certainly revisit.

Reviewer:Mr. David H | Mon 18th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Great experience - Rating 4/5

My husband and I spent a night at the manor recently and enjoyed the experience. The staff, the common rooms, the food and the attention to detail are all big pluses here. The atmosphere is truly unique and the hotel is definitely worth a visit as a real 'boutique' hotel with great service, personal touches and genuinely idiosyncratic decor. On the down side the rooms were a little too reminiscent of the 1970's and could do with a revamp to meet more modern expectations. All in all though, I'd much prefer to smile at slightly outmoded wallpaper than stay at a new hotel lacking all the soul which Aynsome has in spades.

Reviewer:Ms. Rebecca P | Tue 5th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Lovely comfy hotel - Rating 4/5

This is a gorgeous old house in a lovely setting. The welcome was excellent and personal. The room was very comfortable and everywhere was warm - with a log fire in the lounge. The food was good and the service attentive. A very convenient spot for some good bird-watching locations

Reviewer:Ms. Su E | Mon 31st Dec 2012 | 5 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

The place and the staff create a genuine warm and welcoming atmosphere.It's little touch that make this place, relax in front of a open fire with one of many a good selection of whiskeys or a bottle of real ale whilst the owners and staff are only to happy to tell you about the history of the place and that of the local area.Ideal place to relax after a days walking.

Reviewer:Mr. Adam D | Mon 10th Dec 2012 | 5 years ago


Aynsome Mannor - Rating 5/5

We had a really good time. All the staff are really nice and helpful,the rooms are really clean and comfortable and the food is amazing. This was our 2nd visit and we will be 100% staying again

Reviewer:Miss. Julia M | Mon 5th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


Anniversary Getaway - Rating 5/5

A delightful stay at a peaceful location, in a beautiful historical hotel. Aynsome Manor was welcoming and friendly,the food was excellent and the 'service spot' on yet discreet.Recommended to us by friends we would not hesitate to recommend to others, and have done so already. Many thanks for a wonderful anniversary memory, we will stay with you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan K | Thu 6th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


First Rate Hotel - Rating 5/5

Under very professional Management. Meals and service cannot be faulted.

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Sat 1st Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Aynsome Manor Hotel. The hotel and surroundings are delightful and the service we received was fantastic;friendly, courteous, helpful and discrete. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Fri 10th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Our one night experience - Rating 5/5

Greeted by friendly welcoming staff.Our room in the cottage was cosy and comfortable. Fantastic service, wonderful food and great surroundings, what more could you wish for.

Reviewer:Mr. John H | Sun 29th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


gem of a hotel- Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel it was excellent, so peaceful and quiet sometimes we thought we were the only ones staying there.Our room was big, homely and very clean and the views from the windows in the room were of hills and fields.The staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for you and always remained professional and the food was excellent.We have been recommending the hotel to our family and friends since we arrived back home.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane J | Wed 11th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


A memorable experience - Rating 5/5

Everything was brilliant- from the really friendly welcome, the accomodation, the magnificent breakfasts and the friendly yet super-efficient service. Simply perfect. Many thanks - we both look forward to revisiting you.With kind regards,Di &Tony Lamm.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony L | Mon 9th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


First class as usual - Rating 5/5

We have stayed with Chris and Andrea before as it is quite simply excellent. They and their staff always go the extra mile in looking after their guests. The rooms are well proportioned, clean and comfortable in superb surroundings.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven P | Sun 17th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


A Day at the Races - Rating 5/5

We stayed here in June 2012 for one night as a base for a day at the races. We couldn't have picked better - the food, accommodation and service was excellent.I wish there was an option between 'young couple' and 'mature couple' ;-)

Reviewer:Mr. Steve R | Sat 9th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


A little gem! - Rating 4/5

My first stay here.A charming, peaceful little hotel with excellent service, and good value for money (unique in the Lake District?). If I were being ultra picky I'd say the decor in the bedrooms was a little dated.I'll be back next time I'm near.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark L | Thu 24th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Brilliant Experience - Rating 5/5

It's years since my wife and I have stayed in the Lake District and certainly never in the South West Lakes. The hotel offered us good traditional 'old fashioned' service which was really great. All of the staff were superb - clearly this reflects the training standards of the owners/management and again, it was really appreciated. The room was spacious and the en-suite was fine, though the shower-head over the bath could have been a little more powerful. The breakfasts were extensive and varied and there was more than you could eat! Dinner was wholesome and extremely good value. We're certainly going back again and would recommend The Aynsome Manor Hotel unreservedly. Thank you to all of the staff!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter W | Thu 24th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Beautiful historic house - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful historic hotel, our room was large, warm and comfortable. We loved the elegant staircase and the roaring fire in the entrance hall. which was a welcome sight. When we arrived we were made to feel at ease straight away and the hotel staff were fantastic throughout. Oh and not forgetting the brilliant breakfast, which was delicious, best ever. Thanks again for everything, we will definitely return

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine A | Tue 24th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

We returned to the hotel to celebrate my husbands birthday and we were not dissapointed, excellent service, excellent food and excellent accomodation. Nothing was to much trouble, we will return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise J | Mon 27th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Having stayed here a few times over the last 20 years, returned on this visit to find the experience was still an excellent one. If you like efficient polite service, this is the place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger W | Sun 19th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at Aynsome Manor on a number of occasions while visiting family nearby and have always enjoyed my stay.The level of accommodation and service have always been first class and I will definitely book again when staying in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewH | Thu 22nd Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


First class service - Rating 4/5

All the staff, from the cleaners to the waiters/waitresses and the managers/owners, at The Aynsome Manor Hotel are first class.They are welcoming, polite and a pleasure to converse with.The food is generally excellent, I particularly enjoyed the smoked haddock for breakfast.The evening meals were very tasty too.We had mixed feelings about the bedroom.The room was very clean and the bed reasonably comfortable, I suppose we both thought an establishment of such high quality elsewhere might just update the bathrooms to include a proper shower (I can only judge by the room we had). This is not a complaint, we made do with the shower attachment to the bath taps, just a suggestion for one small area of improvement.Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Mark D | Mon 21st Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


Ideal - Rating 5/5

Lovely location, good food and spotlessly clean. That staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. David Thompson| Thu 29th Sep 2011 | 6 years ago


Happy Customers - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay.Superb surroundings, excellent food and attentive staff.Could not have wished for more.Look forward to our next visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathleen C | Tue 6th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

The management, the staff, the food, the rooms, the ambience, the company of the other guests and pretty much everything else was outstanding and we relish the thought of staying here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Julian M | Mon 8th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Anysome Manor Hotel, Cartmel, England - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Aynsome Manor Hotel was lovely.The dinner andbreakfast were reflective of the products of the area and served in a chrming and relaxing atmosphere.The staff was pleasant and helpful we look forward to staying there again.

Reviewer:Dr. Jerry C | Mon 11th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Aynsome Manor - Rating 4/5

A very warm welcome awaited us and the staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful.The food was delicious and plentiful and the accommodation good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah M | Thu 30th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Aynsome Manor - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a wonderful stay.Room very comfortable and food excellent.Very hospitable hosts, nothing was too much trouble.Would highly recommend.We will return soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Bernadette O | Mon 20th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Stayed here with a friend in a twin room for three nights in April 2011. Room was very spacious and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Fine breakfast. For the money I really don't think you could do better than this.

Reviewer:Dr. David H | Sun 1st May 2011 | 7 years ago