Reviews - Aynsome Manor Hotel, Cartmel

Marvellous night's stay - Rating 5/5

We were only looking to break up our trip from Scotland, back home. And I stumbled across this hotel vis a dog friendly site. We were very impressed with the location and the comfort of the room and beds.We will certainly plan to stay here again on visitis to this area.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Webb | Mon 31st Mar 2014


Comfortable and relaxing - Rating 5/5

Our first stay at this hotel. Personable attentive staff and great choice of food makes for an enjoyable and relaxing break. Recommended, we'll be back.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Gledhill | Mon 10th Mar 2014


Staying overnight - Rating 4/5

The hotel is very friendly, set in a lovely location and our room was clean and tidy with all facilities that we needed. Breakfast was good but we did wait a while for our tea this was due to the fact that all guests seemed to be in tbreakfast at the same time. In summary well pleased with the hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Edward Hardaker | Tue 31st Dec 2013


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Service and Hotel excellent. Nice and friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Wade | Tue 3rd Dec 2013


A perfect hotel - Rating 5/5

A beautiful building and setting, together with a warm welcome, delicious food, and excellent service throughout our stay. The dining room is a particular delight, and we could enjoy a superb meal without having to listen to musak, all of which made it just perfect.

Reviewer:Mr. William Smethurst Smethurst | Mon 18th Nov 2013


Worth a trip - Rating 5/5

Staying at Aynesome Manor is like stepping back in time. The house just oozes historical character and the dining room is stunning. The food is superb and excellent value, the staff polite and nothing is too much trouble.The rooms, although not ultra modern are clean and well equipped. We had the heavily beamed room 13 that was once the wig room!The owner is friendly and made us feel genuinely welcome.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Turner | Sun 20th Oct 2013


welcoming staff - Rating 4/5

A wonderful manor in superb setting.The staff were very welcoming.We only ate breakfast here and found it to be very good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary Eveleigh | Sun 8th Sep 2013


Our Stay - Rating 4/5

We only stayed one night, but were very impressed. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and a wonderful setting. Would certainly recommend to friends and family.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Henderson | Wed 28th Aug 2013


Aynsome Manor - Rating 4/5

Every thing first class,our first stay but hopefully not our last.

Reviewer:Mr. William Riley | Tue 20th Aug 2013


our two day break - Rating 5/5

our stay was fabulous the rooms ,the food ,cleanliness and the staff were all brilliant would recommend very highly regards john

Reviewer:Mr. John Frith | Wed 24th Jul 2013


First Visit - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome even though only staying one night. Nothing was too much trouble from the attentive staff.Dinner and breakfast were memorable.Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. John Harrison | Tue 23rd Jul 2013


Warm Welcome - Rating 4/5

Aynsome Manor is an excellentstopping offdestination for travellers heading North or South or those wanting a goodbasefrom which to explore the N W side of the UK.This small hotel is admirably hosted by the very amiable Owner who works particularly hard to ensure the comfortable convenience of his guests. The straightforward menu offers a reasonable choice of well cooked and well presented food. Beds are comfortable and willing help is given with baggage. On reflection our only significant (for us) complaint was the lack ofwater pressure in the shower. Prices are very reasonable both for accommodation and dinner;all in all very good value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. JuanKelly | Sat 29th Jun 2013


Three night stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable place to stay, clean, friendly staff and excellent food. We always stay when visiting our friends in the lakes and even when we owned a flat in Cartmel we ate there. One thing has not changed, the small wine glasses which does not do justice to the wine. They are old hat

Reviewer:Mr. Alistair Whitehead | Thu 13th Jun 2013


Comfortable and welcoming - Rating 5/5

Our first stay,one night stopover. Great service and handy location 20 mins from M6. Very clean and quiet, good value evening meal and excellent breakfast selection.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan King | Wed 5th Jun 2013


Welcome to our house - Rating 5/5

What better place to stay for Cartmel and Southern Lakes.Such a welcome from the team and a nice room, we only had a snack in the evening and drinks in the lounge, all very nice and the menu looked great.Breakfast also fabulous.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin Hart | Tue 7th May 2013


Aynsome Manor Review - Rating 4/5

The short stay at the hotel was pleasant and enjoyable. The dinner was a little formal but enjoyable nonetheless. I would have preferred a detailed breakdown of my wine and drinks and expected that the newspaper was complimentary.

Reviewer:Mr. John Morley | Mon 22nd Apr 2013


A relaxing and welcoming visit - Rating 5/5

We stayed a the Aynsome Manor for one night only (sad to say) in April 2013. We received a very warm welcome and very attentive service from all the staff. Our room was comfortable, large and immaculately clean. We had an excellent dinner and a very good breakfast. The views are superb especially from the first floor sitting room. We would highly recommend this lovely hotel

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Dooher | Sun 21st Apr 2013


A pleasant break - Rating 4/5

Delightful setting with very welcoming and courteous staff. Food good. Bedroom charming with good facilities. Bathroom fine up to a point but the shower was not the easiest to handle and not very powerful. A shower curtain would have prevented a flood on the floor, which occurred even though I tried to direct the showerhead away from it.However, I have no doubt we shall return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynne Miles | Tue 16th Apr 2013


Review - Rating 4/5

The hotel is very clean the staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food was very good. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would certainly revisit.

Reviewer:Mr. David Hall | Mon 18th Mar 2013


Great experience - Rating 4/5

My husband and I spent a night at the manor recently and enjoyed the experience. The staff, the common rooms, the food and the attention to detail are all big pluses here. The atmosphere is truly unique and the hotel is definitely worth a visit as a real 'boutique' hotel with great service, personal touches and genuinely idiosyncratic decor. On the down side the rooms were a little too reminiscent of the 1970's and could do with a revamp to meet more modern expectations. All in all though, I'd much prefer to smile at slightly outmoded wallpaper than stay at a new hotel lacking all the soul which Aynsome has in spades.

Reviewer:Ms. Rebecca Punch | Tue 5th Mar 2013


Lovely comfy hotel - Rating 4/5

This is a gorgeous old house in a lovely setting. The welcome was excellent and personal. The room was very comfortable and everywhere was warm - with a log fire in the lounge. The food was good and the service attentive. A very convenient spot for some good bird-watching locations

Reviewer:Ms. Su Edwards | Mon 31st Dec 2012


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

The place and the staff create a genuine warm and welcoming atmosphere.It's little touch that make this place, relax in front of a open fire with one of many a good selection of whiskeys or a bottle of real ale whilst the owners and staff are only to happy to tell you about the history of the place and that of the local area.Ideal place to relax after a days walking.

Reviewer:Mr. Adam Derbyshire | Mon 10th Dec 2012


Aynsome Mannor - Rating 5/5

We had a really good time. All the staff are really nice and helpful,the rooms are really clean and comfortable and the food is amazing. This was our 2nd visit and we will be 100% staying again

Reviewer:Miss. Julia Mcnamee | Mon 5th Nov 2012


Anniversary Getaway - Rating 5/5

A delightful stay at a peaceful location, in a beautiful historical hotel. Aynsome Manor was welcoming and friendly,the food was excellent and the 'service spot' on yet discreet.Recommended to us by friends we would not hesitate to recommend to others, and have done so already. Many thanks for a wonderful anniversary memory, we will stay with you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Kerr | Thu 6th Sep 2012


First Rate Hotel - Rating 5/5

Under very professional Management. Meals and service cannot be faulted.

Reviewer:Mr. John Coupe | Sat 1st Sep 2012


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Aynsome Manor Hotel. The hotel and surroundings are delightful and the service we received was fantastic;friendly, courteous, helpful and discrete. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. John Carter | Fri 10th Aug 2012


Our one night experience - Rating 5/5

Greeted by friendly welcoming staff.Our room in the cottage was cosy and comfortable. Fantastic service, wonderful food and great surroundings, what more could you wish for.

Reviewer:Mr. John Halligan | Sun 29th Jul 2012


gem of a hotel- Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel it was excellent, so peaceful and quiet sometimes we thought we were the only ones staying there. Our room was big, homely and very clean and the views from the windows in the room were of hills and fields.The staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for you and always remained professional and the food was excellent.We have been recommending the hotel to our family and friends since we arrived back home.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Jones | Wed 11th Jul 2012


A memorable experience - Rating 5/5

Everything was brilliant- from the really friendly welcome, the accomodation, the magnificent breakfasts and the friendly yet super-efficient service. Simply perfect. Many thanks - we both look forward to revisiting you.With kind regards,Di &Tony Lamm.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Lamm | Mon 9th Jul 2012


First class as usual - Rating 5/5

We have stayed with Chris and Andrea before as it is quite simply excellent. They and their staff always go the extra mile in looking after their guests. The rooms are well proportioned, clean and comfortable in superb surroundings.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Pearson | Sun 17th Jun 2012


A Day at the Races - Rating 5/5

We stayed here in June 2012 for one night as a base for a day at the races. We couldn't have picked better - the food, accommodation and service was excellent.I wish there was an option between 'young couple' and 'mature couple' ;-)

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Roe | Sat 9th Jun 2012


A little gem! - Rating 4/5

My first stay here.A charming, peaceful little hotel with excellent service, and good value for money (unique in the Lake District?). If I were being ultra picky I'd say the decor in the bedrooms was a little dated.I'll be back next time I'm near.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Lavelle | Thu 24th May 2012


Brilliant Experience - Rating 5/5

It's years since my wife and I have stayed in the Lake District and certainly never in the South West Lakes. The hotel offered us good traditional 'old fashioned' service which was really great. All of the staff were superb - clearly this reflects the training standards of the owners/management and again, it was really appreciated. The room was spacious and the en-suite was fine, though the shower-head over the bath could have been a little more powerful. The breakfasts were extensive and varied and there was more than you could eat! Dinner was wholesome and extremely good value. We're certainly going back again and would recommend The Aynsome Manor Hotel unreservedly. Thank you to all of the staff!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Wooding | Thu 24th May 2012


Beautiful historic house - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful historic hotel, our room was large, warm and comfortable. We loved the elegant staircase and the roaring fire in the entrance hall. which was a welcome sight. When we arrived we were made to feel at ease straight away and the hotel staff were fantastic throughout. Oh and not forgetting the brilliant breakfast, which was delicious, best ever. Thanks again for everything, we will definitely return

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine Atkinson | Tue 24th Apr 2012


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

We returned to the hotel to celebrate my husbands birthday and we were not dissapointed, excellent service, excellent food and excellent accomodation. Nothing was to much trouble, we will return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise Johnson | Mon 27th Feb 2012


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Having stayed here a few times over the last 20 years, returned on this visit to find the experience was still an excellent one. If you like efficient polite service, this is the place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger Willetts | Sun 19th Feb 2012


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at Aynsome Manor on a number of occasions while visiting family nearby and have always enjoyed my stay.The level of accommodation and service have always been first class and I will definitely book again when staying in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewHall | Thu 22nd Dec 2011


First class service - Rating 4/5

All the staff, from the cleaners to the waiters/waitresses and the managers/owners, at The Aynsome Manor Hotel are first class.They are welcoming, polite and a pleasure to converse with.The food is generally excellent, I particularly enjoyed the smoked haddock for breakfast.The evening meals were very tasty too.We had mixed feelings about the bedroom.The room was very clean and the bed reasonably comfortable, I suppose we both thought an establishment of such high quality elsewhere might just update the bathrooms to include a proper shower (I can only judge by the room we had). This is not a complaint, we made do with the shower attachment to the bath taps, just a suggestion for one small area of improvement.Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Dufton | Mon 21st Nov 2011


Ideal - Rating 5/5

Lovely location, good food and spotlessly clean. That staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. David Thompson| Thu 29th Sep 2011


Happy Customers - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay.Superb surroundings, excellent food and attentive staff.Could not have wished for more.Look forward to our next visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathleen Cordingley | Tue 6th Sep 2011


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

The management, the staff, the food, the rooms, the ambience, the company of the other guests and pretty much everything else was outstanding and we relish the thought of staying here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Julian Mcbride | Mon 8th Aug 2011


Anysome Manor Hotel, Cartmel, England - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Aynsome Manor Hotel was lovely.The dinner andbreakfast were reflective of the products of the area and served in a chrming and relaxing atmosphere.The staff was pleasant and helpful we look forward to staying there again.

Reviewer:Dr. Jerry Cartmel | Mon 11th Jul 2011


Aynsome Manor - Rating 4/5

A very warm welcome awaited us and the staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful.The food was delicious and plentiful and the accommodation good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah Mitchell | Thu 30th Jun 2011


Aynsome Manor - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a wonderful stay.Room very comfortable and food excellent.Very hospitable hosts, nothing was too much trouble.Would highly recommend.We will return soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Bernadette Osguthorpe | Mon 20th Jun 2011


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Stayed here with a friend in a twin room for three nights in April 2011. Room was very spacious and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Fine breakfast. For the money I really don't think you could do better than this.

Reviewer:Dr. David Higgins | Sun 1st May 2011